Six days ago, my family welcomed two month old Max into our house.

Max is a tri-colored cocker spaniel who enjoys sleeping, biting toes, and bothering his older sister, Abbie.

Due to the fact that I am not as busy as I am throughout the school year, Max and I have been spending a lot of time together and I have been learning about him. I’ve learned that when he wakes up from a nap, he immediately  goes to the bathroom. I’ve learned that he has to be put outside right away. I’ve also learned just today that he loves tennis balls and realized that tennis balls are the best toys of puppies because they are bite-able and can roll which results in minutes of fun.

When I’ve learned about myself, is how excited I am to be a mother. I’ve noticed that when my parents come home, I want to tell them all the things I’ve learned about Max. I get excited when he’s sleeping because that gives me the ability to do some housework but I also check to make sure he’s breathing. I really want to show him (and his ball rolling skills) off to everyone. And most important, I want to take cute pictures of him and share them with my friends.

A couple weeks ago, in my last blog post that comments on that last part of John MacArthur’s series “The Role and Responsibility of Women”, I concluded the post with my own desire to raise, love, and teach human babies. Which is what I want to talk a little bit about now.

When I leave the house, I experience a little bit of anxiety about what Max will learn while I am gone. Will my dad redirect his biting the same way I do? Will my mom know that Abbie needs some outside time with Max which will allow her to have so Abbie time? Will Max learn that biting toes is not an okay behavior?

I can only think that is is how parents feel with their children and is the reasoning behind many mothers and fathers choosing to stay at home with the children. And is the reason why I want to also.

I want to teach my kids when I think is important. I want my kids to learn respect. I want my kids to not grow up with an entitled attitude towards life, but rather will thank the Lord for all the things they have been given.

I want them to know how much they are loved and cherished by how I celebrate the little things about them.

Including their bathroom habits.

Leave a Reply

